MASTER
ONLINE EVENTONLINE, ON, Canada ONLINE EVENTONLINE, ON, Canada
 
 

Messiah/Complex

By Against the Grain Theatre (other events)

2 Dates Through Dec 26, 2020
 
ABOUT ABOUT

AGAINST THE GRAIN THEATRE PRESENTS MESSIAH/COMPLEX

***Only one ticket required per device***

***Choose between the LIVE Watch Party or On-Demand***

On December 13th, 2020, the multi-award-winning innovative team at Against the Grain Theatre (AtG) is proud to present a bold interpretation of Handel’s Messiah, created in partnership with the Toronto Symphony Orchestra (TSO).

The daring, seventy-minute filmed performance of Messiah/Complex will showcase multilingual translations, and feature a diverse cast of soloists and choirs from every Province and Territory across Canada, accompanied by the exceptional sounds of the TSO and conducted by Johannes Debus (Canadian Opera Company).

Messiah/Complex is co-directed by the Founding Artistic Director of AtG, Joel Ivany, and Banff Centre’s Director of Indigenous Arts, Reneltta Arluk.

Messiah/Complex features an array of diverse and superb Canadian voices, including Jonathon Adams (AB), Looee Arreak (NU), Jully Black (ON), Spencer Britten (BC), Rihab Chaieb (QC), Deantha Edmunds (NL), Leela Gilday (NT), Miriam Khalil (ON), Andrea Lett (SK), Diyet Van Lieshout (YT), Julie Lumsden (MB) and Elliot Madore (ON); featured choirs include Le Choeur Louisbourg (NB), the Halifax Camerata Singers (NS), the Toronto Mendelssohn Choir (ON), and the University of Prince Edward Island Chamber Chorus (PEI).

Fusing diverse choral traditions and voices from every Provinces and Territory in Canada with one of the most enduring classical works of all time, Messiah/Complex is one way for AtG to share the stories of these incredible Canadian artists—and to celebrate the varied and beautiful places that they call home—with audiences across our nation, and beyond, this holiday season.

Timezone Info for December 13 Live Watch Party:
8pm EST (Toronto, ON)
9:30pm NT (Newfoundland)
9pm AST (Halifax, NS)
7pm CST (Winnipeg, MB)
6pm MST (Edmonton, AB)
5pm PST (Vancouver, BC)

Mailing Address

227 Front Street East, Suite 400 Toronto Ontario M5A 1E8 Canada